https://ebay.co.uk/usr/magickalgardening

Saturday, 30 April 2022

Four Leaf Closer

Yes, thankyou. We could do with a little luck.

Friday, 29 April 2022

Thursday, 28 April 2022

Wednesday, 27 April 2022

Forget-me-nots - The Most Dramatic Plant in the Garden (3)

 One of my favourite plants has to be the Forget-me-not. And right now they are growing in large patches right across the garden. These plants were brought to the magickal garden from our old garden when we moved here about 8 or so years ago. And it is nothing short of fantastic to see them flourishing here in swathes:)

Tuesday, 26 April 2022

Monday, 25 April 2022

Graptopetalum amethystinum Leaf Cuttings

I bought a couple of leaves from a crested Graptopetalum amethystinum from Etsy a few weeks ago and potted them up in this whimsical little pot:


They are already sprouted fresh leaves. However, whether or not they grow into standard or crested plants is anyone's  guess.


Here's the advertised parent plant. I am keeping all my fingers and toes crossed for these babies...

Saturday, 23 April 2022

Friday, 22 April 2022

Wednesday, 20 April 2022

Tuesday, 19 April 2022

Sweetgrass

Well, one blade of Sweetgrass...

Monday, 18 April 2022

Our Chickens

These two girls are now 8 years  old. The average lifespan of a chicken producing eggs for shops and supermarkets is just 12 months 😐 

Anyway, these girls are looking so proud at the moment and their feathers have never looked so good.  



 

Sunday, 17 April 2022

Euphobia acrurensis

I spotted this Euphobia cactus whilst checking out the plants in IKEA this past weekend. With a 30% discount on their plants, I had to it up and take him home with me 😎😎






Saturday, 16 April 2022

Friday, 15 April 2022

P*E*A*C*E

My favourite part of the magickal garden:

Wednesday, 13 April 2022

Tuesday, 12 April 2022

The Most Dramatic Plant in the Garden at the Moment

I love this picture of the garden. It shows our three bird nest homes surrounded by Jasmine and Honeysuckle (one bird nest home is mostly hidden behind the highest green bottle). The bottle tree is a nicely-coloured folkloric focal point in this section of the garden too. And, at the foot of the bottle tree grows what has to be the most dramatic plant in the garden at the moment -  the currently red-leafed Pieris japonica bush.  


 Unfortunately,  Facebook, Instagram and Twitter all insist on cropping way too much info from the top and bottom of the photo. This is a growing frustration, even though the full image will be presented after a mouse click. Still, here it is - on pixie-led.co.uk - in its FULL portrait aspect. :)

Monday, 11 April 2022

Yard Art





Sunday, 10 April 2022

Dragon Fruit

Pwscat keeping an eye on our sowing and planting of Dragon Fruit seeds and seedlings:


Saturday, 9 April 2022

Nesting Jackdaw


 I saw a couple of Jackdaws (only caught this one on video, but the other bird took at least as much stuffing from our hanging basket as this Jackdaw). This after Mrs. MG had spend the previous evening trying to bird-proof the flower baskets!

Friday, 8 April 2022

Crassula Amber - ready for growth


 I have high hopes for my oldest Crassula ovata. It's time to let this momma grow...

Thursday, 7 April 2022

Sunflower Competition. Day 1.

Okay. Fancying a bit of fun in the garden, I thought I'd create a bit of a competition between the various sunflower seeds I have kicking around. There are four contenders in the Magickal Sunflower of the Year 2022 Competition -  Waooh! v Mongolian Giant v Single Giant v Titan.

Here they are on Day 1, just minutes after being sown. There's a few rounds for the flowers to contend in, including tallest,  most photogenic and largest flower head. 

So, let the competition begin...

Wednesday, 6 April 2022

Juvenile Cacti

I received x5 juvenile Lophophora williamsii in the post this morning. ☺ These little mammas are getting fairly pricey and difficult to source these days so I was happy getting these beauties for a decent price. Ignore the clay dust on the pups, its just mineral dust from their potting mix...



To add to my delight, the seller included an extra cactus in the box, as a present, - none other than a young Trichocerues pascana - the cowboy cactus. I've been wanting to grow one of these leviathan of the cactus world for years now. So this morning, I am a rather happy bunny.